Established in 2015 to recognize and honor outstanding teams from Elgin’s past. Nominated by members of the foundation, teams are selected annually by the board of directors. High school teams must be a varsity team in an IHSA team sport that advanced to the state final tournament or had an undefeated regular season, while college teams must have had a top four finish in a state or national competition.

2023 1986 St. Edward Girls Basketball Team

1986 St. Edwards basketball team

Row 1 (bottom row): Jody Thompson and Debbie Jelcz (managers)
Row 2: Stephanie Otte (manager), Heidi Schmitt, Kristine Sullivan, Jennifer Kuch, Tammy Engers, Maureen Mueller
Row 3: Peter Sauter (Asst. Coach), Anne Rotundo, Amy Dayon, Yvette Robeson, Ken Mattini (Coach), Beth Hasenmiller, Alice Garry, Maureen Knott, Carl Valenti (Asst. Coach)
Missing: Julie Mousel

  • Regular season 24-1, overall 31-2
  • 13-1 Conference Champions 12-0
  • 27-2 Won Class 1A Regional, Sectional, and Supersectional
  • Finished 3rd place in Class 1A State Tournament

2023 Youth Team Recognition 1966 Elgin VFW Teener League All-Stars

VFW Elgin All-Star 1966 Baseball team

FRONT ROW: Rick Sund, Terry Whipple, Bob Breskovich, Elmer Schick, Terry Burnell
MIDDLE ROW: Jim Kasules, Dennis Manic, Jack Dahlman, Jim Capps, Dan Mick, Mike LeVault
BACK ROW: Chuck Turner (coach), Dave Hachtel, Larry Burnell, Mike Sterricker, Jim Payne (coach), Bob Marvin (coach)
Missing: Billy Bryan

  • State Tournament 3-0- Defeated Batavia, Skokie, and Woodstock
  • Area Tournament 2-1- Defeated West Allis, and WI
  • National Champions 4-1- Defeated teams from OK, SD, and PA

2023 1991 Elgin High School Softball Team

Heather McAdoo, Jamie Skerski, Keri Reinert, Jennifer Kiefer
Cindy Stutz, Katie Micek, Rhonda Rice, Jennifer Parks, Christina Chase, Denise Taylor
Coach Steve Salisbury, Kim Thaagaard, Karen Traub, Jennifer Marin, Jane Schoenecker, Michelle Massow, Randy Clavenna (assistant coach)
Tanisha Ledbetter

  • Undefeated regular season 26-0, overall 30-1
  • First undefeated conference season in Upstate 8 history
  • Won conference and regional; Lost sectional final to Moline
  • Part of state record: 56 regular season game unbeaten streak

2022 1972-1973 Elgin High School Basketball Team

Bottom Row: Jeff Wilkins, Don Helper (mgr), Ed Bartee, Steve Corn, Tom Koch, Mark Vallee (mgr), Tim Jones

Top Row: Bill Flanagan (assistant coach), Ed Linz (mgr), Andy Kaptain, Tom Hudgens, Dan Benac, Tom Hale, Terry Drake, Jay Geldmacher, Randy Ollis, Steve Roth, Coach Bill Chesbrough

The team finished the regular season with a 22 – 1 record and proceeded to win the regional and sectional titles before beating Proviso East 67-66 for the supersectional title. As a member of the Elite 8, the team advanced to the quarterfinals where they were defeated by West Aurora in double overtime. Overall, the 72-73 team outscored opponents by an average of 73.2 points per game to 52.5.

  • Upstate 8 Conference co-champions with West Aurora
  • 13-1 conference record
  • 27-2 overall and outscored opponents by an average of 73.2 points per game to 52.5


First row (sitting): Megan Bowgren and Marianne Egan Second Row: Lindsey Baldwin, Rebecca Ooyen, Tricia Gielow
Third Row (sitting) Amanda Abernathy, Jill Engel, Vicki Lublow, Lindsay Siete Fourth Row (standing) Joni Melahn, Jenny Fisher
Coaches: Mary O’Brien and Dennis Sugino

  • 14-0 Upstate 8 Conference Champions
  • 29-0-1 Undefeated regular season record
  • Team advanced to the sectional championship

2021 1939 Elgin High Lightweight Football Team

Front Row – Bob Becker, Dick Real, George Wendt, Les Davenport, Harold Groneman, Laverne Studebaker, Charles Wagner, Tom Bonnike, Floyd Meyer, Bill Davis
Middle Row – Darwin Kaiser, Elmer (Red) Steinmann, Roger McDonough, Bill Schmitz, Frank Waterman, Tom Maule, Tom Kienle, Bill Clements, Carl Lindoerfer, Roland Ekstrom, Jim Nesler, Dave Koch, Webster Blazier, Jim Reese
Back Row – Assistant Coach Myron Myers, Ken Lindoerfer, Frank Bonnike, Jack Snellgrove, Dale Ramft, Glenn Runge, Jerome Samples, Milford Rein, Paul Scheele, Murrell Goll, Herb Funk, Capt. Art Mapes, Don Wiltshire, Bob Connell, Coach John Krafft Missing: Roy Whipple and Lyle Holth

  • Undefeated Big Seven Conference Champions (9-0)
  • Outscored opponents 173 – 0

2021 1983 St. Edward High School Golf Team

Team members from left: Bill Sheehy, Mark Miller, Matt Schweik, John Harwood, Mike Lehman
Coach: Jim Perkins

  • Class 1A – 2nd place in state
  • Season Record 12 – 2
  • Won regional and sectional

Experience it in person!

If you’d like to view previous Award Recipients we invite you to the ESHOF on-site Touch Pro Experience, located at The Centre of Elgin.


Support our area college student-athletes and help us recognize individuals and teams who have contributed to the success of Elgin’s great sports history.